22 December 2023 Money Carer
Appointeeship, Deputyship, Carer Cards, Power of Attorney Welfare Benefit - FAQ's

What is the Difference between PIP and DLA

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) and Disability Living Allowance (DLA) are welfare benefits provided to individuals in the United Kingdom to help with the extra costs associated with a long-term health condition or disability. However, there are some critical differences between PIP and DLA:

  1. Eligibility Criteria:
    • DLA: Disability Living Allowance was available to individuals under 16 and those aged 65 or older with care or mobility needs due to a disability or health condition.
    • PIP: Personal Independence Payment is available to individuals aged 16 to 64 (although there are some exceptions for those already receiving DLA before turning 16) and is based on a person’s ability to carry out specific daily living and mobility activities.
  2. Assessment Process:
    • DLA: DLA was primarily based on the care and mobility components, with different rates available for each, depending on the level of assistance required.
    • PIP: PIP uses a points-based assessment system to determine eligibility. It assesses an individual’s ability to carry out a range of activities related to daily living (e.g., preparing food, bathing, managing medication) and mobility (e.g., moving around, planning journeys). Points are awarded based on the level of difficulty an individual has in these activities, and the total points determine the PIP award.
  3. Medical Assessments:
    • DLA: DLA did not usually require a face-to-face medical assessment. Eligibility was determined based on the information provided in the application form and any supporting medical evidence.
    • PIP: Most PIP applicants are required to undergo a face-to-face assessment conducted by a healthcare professional contracted by the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP). The assessment is used to gather additional information about the applicant’s condition and how it affects their daily life.
  4. Payment Structure:
    • DLA: DLA was paid in two components: the care component and the mobility component. The amount of the benefit depended on the level of care or mobility needs.
    • PIP: PIP is also paid in two components: the daily living component and the mobility component. Each component has two rates: standard and enhanced. The amount received depends on the number of points scored in the assessment.
  5. Recipient Age:
    • DLA: DLA was available to individuals both below and above the age of 16, with different rules and rates for each group.
    • PIP: PIP is primarily available to individuals aged 16 to 64, although there are exceptions for some who were receiving DLA before turning 16.

It’s important to note that DLA has been largely phased out for new claimants, and PIP has replaced it for individuals aged 16 to 64. Existing DLA recipients may still receive their payments, but they may be reassessed for PIP when their circumstances change or when they reach a specific age. The specific rules and rates for PIP can change over time, so it’s essential to refer to the latest information and guidelines provided by the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) when making a claim or seeking updates.

Tags: dla, pip
Did you find this FAQ helpful?
Thumbs Up Icon 0
Thumbs Down Icon 0
Quick Links